Stanislav Kochanovsky & Nikolai Lugansky (piano)

Fri 27.09.19 20:00
€ 46 – 38 – 24 – 10
Sun 29.09.19 15:00
€ 46 – 38 – 24 – 10

Nikolaï Rimski-Korsakov, Capriccio espagnol, op. 34

Sergei Prokofiev, Concerto for piano and orchestra Nr. 2 in G minor, op. 16

Piotr Tchaikovksy, Symphony Nr. 5 in E minor, op. 64


The Mighty Handful, a group of five prominent Russian composers, including Nikolaï Rimsky-Korsakov, set out to create and preserve pure Russian music. So you can see how a title such as Capriccio Espagnol would be unexpected in this context. And yet, the interest in exotic, different music styles is typical of the Five – defining the Other to strengthen one’s own identity.

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky did not endorse the convictions of the Five, even though they all remained friendly with each other’s. Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony is not interested in national boundaries and beliefs, but is a purely abstract musical masterpiece that should not be missed.

Music is inspired by huge political and nationalist themes, but also by universal human emotions. Out of respect and sorrow Prokofiev dedicated his Concerto No. 2 to fellow student, friend and pianist Max Schmidthof, who committed suicide. The Russian pianist Nikolai Lugansky is the soloist in this tribute.


Stanislav Kochanovsky

Stanislav Kochanovsky was born and studied in St.

Nikolai Lugansky

Described by Gramophone as “the most trailblazing and meteoric performer of all” Nikolai Lugansky is a pianist of extraordinary depth and versatility.