Michael Schønwandt & Ray Chen (violin)

Fri 02.03.18 20:00
Palais des Beaux-Arts
Sun 04.03.18 15:00
€46 – €38 – €24 – €10

Pyotr Tchaïkovsky, Concerto for violin and orchestra in D; op. 35
Johannes Brahms, Symphony in C minor nr 1, op. 68

The Taiwanese-Australian virtuoso Ray Chen, winner of the Yehudi Menuhin and Queen Elisabeth Competitions at a very young age, shines in Tchaikovsky's extremely difficult Violin Concerto. This is followed by Brahms’ First Symphony, in which he incorporates diverse influences within a Beethovian structure. 


Michael Schønwandt

Danish conductor Michael Schønwandt made his Royal Opera debut in 1985 conducting I Capuleti e i Montecchi.

Ray Chen

Winner of the Queen Elisabeth (2009) and Yehudi Menuhin Competitions (2008), Ray Chen is among the most compelling young violinists today.