Michael Schønwandt, Khatia Buniatishvili (piano) & Kamus Quartet

Fri 18.10.19 19:00
Tarief los ticket
€ 46 – 38 – 24 – 10

Kamus Quartet :
Aulis Sallinen, String Quartet No. 3: Some Aspects of Peltoniemi Hintrik's Funeral March 
Karl Wilhelm Stenhammar, Quatuor à cordes n° 6, op. 35 


Belgian National Orchestra :

Jean Sibelius, Karelia Suite, op. 11
Edvard Grieg, Piano Concerto in A minor, op.16
Carl Nielsen, Symphony n°4, op. 29 "Inextinguishable"


The further we travel northwards, the shorter the days become. In the Arctic Circle the sun never rises above the horizon for several weeks, shrouding everything in a mysterious dark blue light. Perhaps this phenomenon influenced the many magical compositions of so many Scandinavian composers? The pianist Khatia Buniatishvili lights up the long and dark winter days with a performance of Edvard Grieg’s Piano Concerto in a minor.

When Carl Nielsen composed his Symphony No. 4 in 1916, Scandinavia and the whole of Europe were enveloped in darkness. World War I cast its shadow over Europe for many, long years. And yet he chose a title that was full of hope for his composition, i.e., Det Uudslukkelige, or ‘The Inextinguishable’, with which he refers to the ‘elementary desire to live’. An unquenchable endeavor to continue and, despite everything, try to reach utopia. It is this primal force which you can sense in his music and which provides a glimmer of light in these dark times.


As part of the Nordic Festival


Michael Schønwandt

Danish conductor Michael Schønwandt made his Royal Opera debut in 1985 conducting I Capuleti e i Montecchi.

Khatia Buniatishvili

Née en Géorgie en 1987, Khatia Buniatishvili commence le piano à l’â