Hugh Wolff, Sofia Fomina (Soprano), Michelle DeYoung (mezzo-soprano), the Octopus choir, Brussels Chamber Choir

Fri 08.11.19 20:00
De Singel Antwerpen
Sat 09.11.19 20:00
€ 60 – 48 – 34 – 16

Gustav Mahler, Symfony nr. 2 in c minor "Resurrection"   


“Rise again, yes, you shall rise again, My dust, after a short rest!”. These lines from a religious ode by Friedrich Klopstock were recited at the funeral of the famous conductor Hans von Bülow. After hearing those, Gustav Mahler, a good friend and admirer of von Bülow, wrote: “It struck me like lightning, this thing, and everything was revealed to me clear and plain”. The hymn inspired his Symphony No. 2, which has the same title as the ode, namely ‘Die Auferstehung’

In the fifth and last movement of the symphony the choir sings stanzas from Klopstock’s poem, which have been altered and supplemented with Mahler’s own text. Christ leads man to the hereafter in Klopstock’s original, while Mahler lets man achieve immortal life through love. At the end of the symphony, the victory over death is celebrated in musical glory and sing: “Sterben werd’ ich um zu leben!”. As a phoenix, humanity rises day after day from its own ashes.

For this masterpiece the Belgian National Orchestra is proud to welcome a world famous cast: Michelle DeYoung and Sofia Fomina.


Hugh Wolff

Hugh Wolff is among the leading conductors of his generation.  He has appeared with all the major American orchestras including those of Chicago, New York, Boston, Philadelphia, Los Angeles, S

Michelle DeYoung

Michelle DeYoung has already established herself as one of the most exciting artists of her generation.

Sofia Fomina

Praised for her “formidabily striking” and “stunning silvery” soprano sound, Sofia Fomina first burst onto the international operatic scene in 2012 when she made a sensational debut at the Royal Op