Hugh Wolff & Renaud Capuçon (Violin)

Fri 14.02.20 20:00
Tarief los ticket
€ 46 – 38 – 24 – 10

Aaron Copland, Appalachian Spring (Orchestrated by the composer, 1945)

Pascal Dusapin, Aufgang

Robert Schumann, Symphony Nr. 1 in B-flat major, op. 38 "Spring" 

For the 16/02 concert, please click here.



“For all things change, making way for each other.” That is how Euripides summed up the power of nature, which is constantly changing and evolving. This idea is also reflected in the violin concerto Aufgang, in which “the conflict between darkness and the blinding light is the driving force.” The shadows of the orchestra make way for the radiant violin. Dusapin composed Aufgang especially for Renaud Capuçon, who is travelling to Brussels to perform the Belgian premiere of this work this evening.

Robert Schumann’s Symphony no. 1, also known as the Spring Symphony, is in the same vein. He wrote to a friend: “Could you breathe a little of the longing for spring into your orchestra as they play? That was most in my mind when I wrote this symphony.” Spring also seemed to be on Aaron Copland’s mind when he composed his Appalachian Spring. But this is based on a misunderstanding. While spring is definitely in the air in his composition, here the English word refers to a ‘source’.

As part of the Festival Dusapin

Belgian premiere for Pascal Dusapin's Aufgang


Hugh Wolff

Hugh Wolff is among the leading conductors of his generation.  He has appeared with all the major American orchestras including those of Chicago, New York, Boston, Philadelphia, Los Angeles, S

Renaud Capuçon

French violinist Renaud Capuçon is firmly established internationally as a major soloist, recitalist and chamber musician.